I will watch more hawaiian sunsets

Do you remember the first lines of “The Descendants”, this slow-paced movie with George Clooney based on a book by Kaui Hart Hemmings? It goes like this: “My friends on the mainland think just because I live in Hawaii, I live in paradise. Like a permanent vacation. We’re all just out here sipping Mai Tais, shaking our hips, and catching waves. Are they insane?” I can identify with these words completely, the initial excitement of coming here wore off long time ago and my grouchy side came to the surface making me stay at my air-conditioned home, hiding from the heat, humidity and tourists. It is hot and sticky, walks on the beach become tricky when jellyfish decide to have a party at the shore, and art galleries are filled with kitschy paintings of plumeria flowers – not something that would make my european soul sing. Imagine Grumpy Cat in a hula skirt – it’s me.

Nevertheless, I decide to take time for myself now and then, look at this beautiful island with fresh eyes and marvel at the beauty around me. The truth is that I am pretty lucky to experience life here, in beautiful surroundings of a tropical island, and although I didn’t find my place in the world here (great place for vacations though!), I appreciate where I got to live for few years.

So called paradise.

sunset

sunset

after the sunset

Leave a Reply

